247 Backgammon Com

Backgammon World Championship Winners

From 1967 to 1969 the World Championship was held in Las Vegas. Tim Holland was the first winner in 1967 and defends the title the following year. Another American Alice Topping snatched the title in 1969.for some reasons no championship was held in 1970.

American players dominate the championship in the next decade .Eight of the ten winners between the year 1971 to 1980 are Americans. Tim Holland (USA) was the first winner in 1971.Oswald Jacoby also an American beats fellow American Edward Burns for the title in 1972. 1973 winner was Carol Crawford (USA) subduing Lewis Deyong (USA). Philip Martyn a Briton was beaten by Claude Beer an American for the 1974 Championship. In the Bahamas 1975 championship showed backgammon player Billy Eisenberg running away with the title. Vernon Ball took the measure of fellow American Arthur Dickman in winning the crown in 1976.The winners in the 1977 are Americans Ken Goodman champion and runner up Jim Crosby. And in 1978 its Paul Magriel turns to win the World Championship of Backgammon against Kal Robinson of the USA..

From 1979 up to the present world Championship of backgammon was held in Loew's Hotel in Monte Carlo.A run down of winners up to 1980: 1979- Luigi Villa (Italy) 1980- Walter Coratella (Mexico) 1981- Lee Genud (USA) 1982- Jacques Michel (Switzerland) 1983- William Robertie (USA) 1984- Michael Svobodny (USA) 1985- Charles Sabet (Switzerland) 1986- Clement Palacci (Italy) 1987- William Robertie (USA) 1988- Phillip Marmorstein (Germany) 1989- Joseph Russel (USA) 1990- Hal Heinrich (Canada)

The years 1991 to 2000 produced new winners. Young players took away some titles. German Michael Meyburg won in 1991.In 1992 shows Swiss Ion Ressu bagging the crown against John Simon of the United Kingdom. Dane Peter Jes Thomsen runs away with the crown the following year by upending John Sjolin of Denmark.David Ben Zion from Israel got the crown in 1995 from Josef Tissona of Israel. Another Israel national David Nahmad bags the title in 1996. 1997 winner was Jerry Grandell from Sweden. Michael Meyburg repeats in 1998.Another Swede Jorden Granstedt took the 1999 title. And in 2000 American Katie Scalamandre won the event by defeating Thomas Holm of Denmark.

Present World Championship of Backgammon winners include: 2001 Jorgen Granstedt, Sweden Thomas Holm, Germany runner-up 2002 Mads Andersen, Denmark Felix Ziva, Israel runner-up 2003 Jon Royset, Norway Moshe Tissona, Israel runner-up 2004 Peter Hallberg, Denmark Bob Wachtel, USA runner-up 2005 Dennis Carlston, USA John O'Hagan USA runner-up 2006 Philip Viscjager, Netherlands Luigi Villa, Italy runner-up 2007 Jorge Pan, Argentina Alvaro Salvo, Brazil runner-up